Add your review
Existing reviews
New favorite!
This book is absolutely precious. The illustrations are amazing and the storyline is so different. I can't say enough good things about this book.
Date: 12/30/2014 2:11 PM
Lesson in Perspective and the Nature of Friendship
This is the cutest story.  Told from two different points of view (the girl and the "beast"), the same set of events has two very different spins.  My 8-year-old got about three pages into Part II and said, "Oh, I get it!  Part I is the girl's version, and Part II is the beast's version."  It's great for starting conversations about both how stories have more than one side AND the importance of taking your friends' feelings into consideration.  Adorable!
Date: 1/12/2015 5:03 PM
Such a fantastic book
I read this book aloud to my class and the kids just LOVED it.  The story is funny and the illustrations are darling. I really enjoy reading this book aloud for story time.  I love the unique way that it is written from the perspectives of both of the main characters and it that it has a lesson for children about how differently people can see the same situation.
Date: 1/28/2015 8:12 AM
Beautiful Book About Different Perspectives
This book has beautiful illustrations and so simply tells the same story from the perspective of the girl and the animal. It is such a great teaching tool. I love this book!
Date: 2/3/2015 4:36 PM
Best. Book. Ever.
This has to be one of my favorite new books ever. The cute illustrations grab kids attention. I have read it to my niece who is 2.5 years old, read it with my 6,8 and 10 year old and read it to adults and they always love it!

I love the two storylines, part 1 from the girls perspective and part 2 from the squirrels. They both see each other as "beasts".

I have read this two ways. First I just read part 1 and then part 2, but you can also read it so you are seeing both sides at the same time by reading the first page in both parts right after each other. This creates the opportunity to be able to compare the perspectives and talk about how they images even change slightly

This is a book you want and need for your kids teachers and in your home
Date: 2/9/2015 8:51 AM
No age cap on this one.
I brought this book home to my kids who are 5 and 7 1/2. They both love the book. This tells the same story first from the perspective of the girl, and then from the perspective of the beast. A great way to get kids thinking about the opinions and feelings of others.
Date: 2/12/2015 2:10 PM
Amazing read!
This is one for the ages!  A timeless classic!  I would recommend this book for any parent who values the Values of their child!
Date: 3/2/2015 9:08 PM
Adorable!
This adorable tale is not only super cute and fun for adults- but also great for starting conversations with your little one!
Date: 3/24/2015 9:42 AM
Must have picture book!
This story is a blast to read. The two parts make it fun to read and talk about. The pictures are simple, sweet, and perfectly done.
Date: 3/27/2015 10:32 PM
Essential for any Book Collection
This book is a must read for any home or classroom- really of any age.  I can't say enough good things.  Cure and engaging for little ones, but such an important lesson for all ages.  It is my new favorite and my 5 year old loves it too :)
Date: 9/18/2015 5:16 AM
So cute and funny!
I love this book! My son is too young to understand it but he likes to look at the pictures and I think the story line is adorable! Great for teaching to look at a situation from another person's perspective
Date: 10/23/2015 8:50 PM
Adorable!
This book is not only fun and witty but great for people of all ages. The storyline is easy to adapt for any reader and kids love the two different perspectives. Definitely a winner in our house!
Date: 11/5/2015 1:14 PM
Adorable!
This book is so cute and funny and will hopefully be a great way to introduce my son to perspectives as he gets older. Right now he is 2.5 and it is his favorite book but my husband and I both love it just as much.
Date: 11/10/2015 12:05 PM
Different Perspectives
I love how this book teaches kids about different perspectives, and I love how the little girl and the beast come back together for a wild romp in the end. A sweet story and an important lesson that others will see things differently than you do.
Date: 12/4/2015 2:37 PM
Absolutely a favorite!!!!!!!!!
I cannot say enough good things about this book! The illustrations are adorable. The story is well written and the message is strong. I love the way it shows the two perspectives on the same story and all of my kids were able to follow the story. We giggled a lot at the different ways the two characters saw the same thing and we were able to have a great conversation. We read this book over and over. Even my husband loves it! :)
Date: 1/2/2016 9:44 PM
Love this book!
This book is hilarious and such a fun way to teach children about different perspectives! Love!
Date: 1/16/2016 11:46 AM
Beyond amazing lessons taught
We LOVE this book!  It's perfect for teaching kids (and adults) that there are ALWAYS two sides to every story and not to prejudge.  It's adorably fun for all ages!
Date: 1/23/2016 10:21 AM
Two Sides to every story
I loved reading this book! My 7-year-old read it to me. It is really amazing how it shows two sides to every story. A good moral, I think. The illustrations were beautiful as well. My son loved the story as well. He thought it was funny.
Date: 4/4/2016 8:57 AM
"There are TWO SIDES to every story...and then there is the TRUTH!"
I wasn't sure what this book was about when I bought it for my 6-year-old grand daughter. When it arrived, and I read through it...I couldn't help but giggle!! What an ADORABLE, CREATIVE story! It is all about perspective and the fact that there are always different sides of the same story. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this book...it is a MUST-HAVE!!
Date: 4/24/2016 2:46 PM
A simple book about a difficult concept!
We love this book and how it enables children to understand someone else's perspective!
Date: 5/18/2016 1:01 PM
Love this book!
My 5 year old has this book memorized! Very sweet, a little silly, and a good little lesson about thinking of others.
Date: 5/28/2016 9:13 PM
A Tale of Two Beasts
This story is a fun read aloud!  It is uniquely written with two parts each containing  one side of the story .  The illustrations, as well as the text, are humorous.  My daughter loves this book and I plan on reading it to my class for a lesson on point of view.
Date: 7/1/2016 3:37 PM
Excellent Lesson
This book presents the same story from two points of view. It leads to a natural conversation between parent and child about how to have empathy for others. It's a cute and straight-forward story. The brilliance is in the two sides.
Date: 7/22/2016 6:57 PM
Such a Gem
This book is so much fun, my kids love acting out the events of both sides of the story and it teaches them that there are two sides to every story and we don't know how someone else views a situation but that we should be sensitive to others and their feelings ♡♡ and you can read it 10x in a night and still love it!!!
Date: 7/23/2016 9:15 AM
A Treasure
This book is fantastic! My daughter loves the illustrations and the story and I love the lesson. It has become an instant favorite in my house and is read almost every night.  
Date: 8/10/2016 1:04 PM
My kids favorite
No matter what books we read at bedtime this one always makes it into the pile. My kids request it every night. I love that it teaches them that there are always two sides to every story and it's important to hear both.
Date: 2/2/2017 7:02 PM
One of our Favorites
We love this book at our house!  Such a precious story teaching empathy and seeing the other person's side of the story!  Lovely illustrations, It's funny!, and my kids love it!
Date: 2/10/2017 10:44 AM
Great Book
My kids and I love this book. It is illustrated beautifully and well written.  Such a great story line.
Date: 3/28/2017 10:27 PM
Everyone needs this one
This is one of my favorites!  I love that the little beast gets to tell his side of the the story about the big scary beast!  I recommend it for everyone. I have a headstart classroom and my students loved it.  
Date: 5/2/2017 5:20 AM
Major LOL moments with my child
My daughter is 7 and this is ine if her favorite books ever.  She found the book to be super funny and loved both characters perspectives. Since reading this book we have begun discussing perspectives from alternative characters in other books.
Date: 5/18/2017 12:42 AM
Teaches two sides to every story
This book is and has been my son's favorite or quite some time.  It's adorable!  We have read it over and over and it has been well-loved, but it still looks brand new.  This is a household favorite!  We LOVE it!
Date: 7/24/2017 5:33 PM
A wonderful teaching moment!
I absolutely love this book! It is a very bright and colorful book with such fun illustrations. The tale is of a young girl who ‘rescues’ a strange beast from the woods and takes him home. The young girl thinks that she is helping the beast, but he is very unhappy about being taken from the woods. This book offers a great opportunity to teach about different points of view and the importance of seeing that others might have a different view of the world.
Date: 8/31/2017 11:17 AM
So different, but so cool.
This book is very thought provoking and I can imagine it would spark some great conversations with children. The illustrations and story are fun even for kids too young to understand the deeper meaning.
Date: 9/12/2017 7:06 PM
Our favorite Kane Miller book!
This is seriously my all time favorite Kane Miller book.  It is captivating for the little people and humorous enough to keep adults.  I love that the underlying theme is that even if you don't fully understand someone or where they come from, there are two perspectives to every story!
Date: 9/13/2017 8:41 AM
Perfect for diferentiating perpectives
My 3 year old loves this book. It's been wonderful to see her talk about it from each perspective! Cute story line and wonderfully written. Perfect amount of words/pictures per page to keep her attention.
Date: 9/17/2017 6:59 PM
Family Favourite
We love this book in my house- I particularly like that it shows kids how there are two sides to every story. In light of the state of our world, this lesson can go a loooonnnggg way! I also appreciate the cuteness of the illustrations.
Date: 11/29/2017 4:34 PM
Perspective
This book is a wonderful introduction to perspective and the idea that the same event can look very different to different people.
Date: 1/12/2018 12:53 PM
Love it! Story and Lessons within
This book is one of the books that sold me on Usborne! It's great for teachers and parents alike- My kids are 18 months- 9 years and they all enjoyed the story! It's a good book to demonstrate that every story has at least 2 sides, point of view, different species/cultures, etc. How one beast may not understand the others intentions or way of life but how they come to like each other at the end. I definitely recommend this book! Another nice feature as with all the other books I've purchased from UBAM- the quality. This book is even nice to the touch.
Date: 3/26/2018 11:38 AM
Family favorite!
We love this book. I love reading it because it is from two different perspectives and allows for many different conversations! Oh, and it is just the cutest little story! Easy to follow and holds the interest of small children.
Date: 5/28/2018 8:18 AM
WE LOVE THIS STORY!
This book is quite precious. It's unique to hear the story from both sides and a great lesson for little ones.  The illustrations are adorable. I wish they'd come out with more stories similar to A Tale of Two Beasts
Date: 6/13/2018 1:11 PM
A tale of Perspective
I have 2 boys (3 and 5) and one is autistic. Both of my kids have trouble understanding the other child, because they both see the world so differently. This shows how the exact same events can look fun and exciting to one person, but mean and scary to another. The best part is that they both love this book, and ask me to read it to them over and over again!
Date: 7/29/2018 1:01 PM
So important!!
One of my favorite books ever! Seeing things from someone else's point of view is such an important lesson, but so hard for kids to understand! My 5 year old was speechless after the first time we read it, and then asked to read it 2 more times immediately. I LOVE how it made her think.
Date: 1/30/2019 9:45 PM
Great concept but for older kiddos
I wish this was a little bit better written since it is such a great concept and a great lesson! Though, for upper elem. school age children it is a great way to get them thinking about the concept.
Date: 4/5/2019 1:14 PM
Love It
I love this book! It is cute, funny, and great illustrations.
Date: 5/23/2019 3:02 PM
Learning to see other perspective
I love this book because it is an easy way to explain to young kids about how their friends may see something differently. A great conversation starter!
Date: 5/25/2019 3:37 PM
We (all) love this book
We all love this book. It's adorable and sweet (and silly, too) but the story line is fun and original. Reading this book opened up a conversation about about empathy and seeing things from other people's perspective. Great for my 7yo and 4yo. Great for me too.  
Date: 6/12/2019 9:19 PM
We LOVE this book!
This book is one of our family favorites! My 5 year old twin girls think this book is so silly and fun. It's a great lesson to teach how a single event can be interpreted in different ways, based on the individual's experience. Overall, it's a wonderful silly book with substance!
Date: 11/8/2019 7:59 PM
My favorite!
This really is such a great lesson that every child needs to learn! It tells the same story, but from two different perspectives. The little girl thinks she saved the poor beast (a small animal), whilst the little animal feels as though he's been ambushed by a terrible beast (a little girl with ideas of her own). It's just a really cute story.
Date: 3/20/2020 4:02 PM
One of my favorites
This is one of my favorite children's books ever. As always, the illustrations are beautiful and the story teaches an extremely important lesson... how to see the other side of the story.
Date: 6/16/2020 5:57 PM
A must have!
This is one of the BEST books offered. The two perspectives in the story can be applied to so many of life circumstances. Great for many age groups! I love reading this to my daughter.
Date: 9/15/2020 12:51 PM
Great lesson
I love love love The tale of two beasts. It’s illustrations are absolutely adorable but more importantly, the lesson of “2 sides to every story” is so easily explained to little kids with this book.
Date: 1/11/2021 7:26 PM
Buy!
What a great book! My daughter loves it thinks it’s so fun and I love the message!
Date: 2/1/2021 10:23 PM
There are two sides to every story
We've been reading this book with my daughter since she was 3. She's now 7 and it's still a favorite. I've given this book as a gift and read it aloud to a class of kindergarteners and a group of second-graders. Each group takes something away and it led to some interesting conversations about friendship and being kind and getting input from others before deciding what to do/play. Highly recommend to families and classroom teachers!
Date: 3/16/2022 3:23 PM