Add your review
Existing reviews
So much information
My 8 and 9 year old love this book! So much information about the universe and keeps my kids engaged for a long time :)
Date: 10/6/2015 2:19 PM
Mixed feelings
So much of this See Inside book is wonderful. I love all the flaps with fascinating information about stars, nebulas, our galaxy, types of planets, particles, space equipment, and astronomy history all told in a kid friendly, entertaining way. The pictures and illustrations are great, and I love the graphics and flaps. However, I do wish I had known how strongly the case for the Big Bang theory was presented. The most engaging, largest of the double-page-spread with huge flaps explores exclusively the beginning (and end) of time during which scientists find it "literally impossible to observe, test, or study", a "little less than 14 billion years ago." There's even a sort of timeline about what supposedly happened 3 minutes and 17 minutes after the Big Bang. The Big Bang is further referenced at other points in the book, making it a unifying theme. The comments section is not a great place to debate this theory, but suffice it to say that I won't be keeping this book for my eager 4 year old. For those with older kids or who view science about our beginnings from a different viewpoint than I, this book may be perfect for you. However, I did want parents who teach their children about the literal 7 days of creation to be aware that this otherwise lovely Usborne book conflicts strongly with the truths you may be trying to teach. Thanks and best wishes!
Date: 1/18/2016 3:26 PM
Thank you.
Thank you for your review regarding the Big Bang Theory in this book.  I was considering this book and immediately wondered how heavily it taught the theory, and I appreciate your review.  It told me exactly what I wanted to know.  
Date: 2/5/2016 9:00 PM
FYI
I bought this book to go along with my son's 2nd grade homeschool cirriuculum. We are strong in our Christian faith and believe the universe was created by God and not by The Big Bang. This book dedicates two huge fold outs discussing the beginning and the end of the big bang. If you're using it for a homeschool curriculum like we are, I'm just informing you. We plan to skim over these pages.
Date: 2/28/2016 5:11 PM
Awesome factual book
This is an excellent non-fiction child's book with great pictures and loaded with lots of factual information; explained in a way kids will understand. Our kids love sitting and reading all the information and lifting all the flaps to discover new things. Heads up though, it is a scientific book that teaches about The Big Bang Theory. If you are religious and want to teach your kids about creationism through a particular god or deity, then this book is probably not for you.
Date: 4/6/2016 1:30 AM
Fantastic!
I wish I had had this book when I was younger.  I love that some ofnthebflaps have other flaps inside! So many tidbits to read and explore!  
Date: 2/1/2019 10:46 PM
Big Bang theory not our thing
I agree with the previous reviews regarding this book. I thought it was really excellently done and my 4yo grandson was very captivated by it. Then we got to the parts regarding the Big Bang theory and I was hugely disappointed. That’s not the concept we support in our home. I was able to distract him past those flaps but we probably won’t spend anymore time in that book. :(
Date: 3/14/2019 9:08 PM
Dont be overly cautious about the big bang
For those concerned aboutthe big bang being referenced, please consider that the Big bang actually supports the existence of God as a creator far more than it disproves God as creator. God said, "let there be light." And BANG there it was.
Date: 3/18/2019 12:11 AM
Disappointed
I was so very excited to get this book for my 8 year old son. We love watching meteor showers together and identifying constellations. This book is full of beautiful pictures and facts about outer space. My issue is with the huge fold out pages about the beginning of time and the end of time. This information is purely theoretical and not factual. We are a Christian family that believes in the literal creation outlined in Genesis 1. “The Big Bang Theory” is exactly that- a theory. I feel that Usborne dropped the ball with this book- they should stick with interesting facts about our beautifully created universe instead of incorporating a unifying theme throughout about “The Big Bang Theory”. This saddens me because I was even considering becoming a consultant but I am having second thoughts now. I can’t sell books for a company that I so strongly disagree with their scientific book selection.
Date: 5/1/2019 1:36 PM
Nice pictures
I liked the pictures in the book and the lift the flaps I bought this to have on hand for my Nieces and Nephew ages 4 1/2 10 11 1/2 and 12. However as a Christian the big bang theory in the book was disappointing  since my family believes in God and how he Created the earth. It was an unnecessary thing in the book and those pages will be skipped. The rest of the book was excellent.
Date: 7/4/2019 5:12 PM
Creation vs evolution heads up
Very disappointed! I really wish that in the title they would put that this is a evolutionist point of view book. I believe in creation, I believe that God created the universe in 7 days and nothing else. So the fact that the big bang theory is included in this book and there is absolutely no way for us to know that until you get it, is very disappointing. Furthermore I am disappointed that I have to pay for shipping to return this book which now makes my book even more expensive.
Date: 7/18/2019 5:41 PM
Very educational!
This book is full of great information about our universe. My two boys had so much fun with each flap learning about exploding stars and how old the universe is and what it’s made up of.
Date: 10/18/2019 5:24 PM
It is a SCIENCE book
This is a science book. . .  If you are looking for something that prioritizes myth and folklore over science you're going to be disappointed. If you are looking for a well thought out, fact based, engaging book that teaches evidence based science you will be incredibly satisfied.
Date: 11/17/2019 10:36 PM
Big Bang Theory
I loved how this book looked on the cover and was excited to get it, but after getting it I quickly realized it is full of Big Bang Theory from cover to cover. Christian friends beware! One page even says “In the beginning” and goes on to explain the Big Bang. Another page says “In the end”  and tells your kids how the world will basically explode and end. This is such a bias viewpoint. Shame on you Usborne. It is one thing to explain all possible objective options but another entirely to shove a subjective viewpoint onto our kids. This book went into my wood stove.
Date: 12/4/2019 10:38 AM
Science not religion
This lift the flap book is as amazing as the rest in this series.  It provides great information in an easily accessible and fun way.

I am confused by all the "warnings".  When did a science book need to give equal consideration to a theory based on biblical text, yet lacking any scientific evidence.

To be clear, no one knows how the world began, and I criticize no beliefs.  But scientific theory is centered on the idea that there must be observable evidence that supports the theory, and that key aspects of the theory must be able to be replicated.  A book about "how did the world begin" may be expected to take into account multiple theories, including theories believed historically and those still believed by non-Christian religions and cultures, but a book about science and the exploration of the actual properties of space should not be expected to discuss anything beyond scientifically accepted theories.

Btw:as another reviewer pointed out, the biblical account and the scientific account are not mutually exclusive, unless viewed by those determined to see them as such.  
Date: 4/28/2020 6:10 PM