Add your review
Existing reviews
They have done it again!!!
UBAM has created another amazing title! This board book has both a touchy-feely aspect and animal sounds. A mixture like this is sure to have your little ones dancing along with it! Don’t miss out on adding Don’t Tickle the Hippo to your collection.
Date: 10/9/2019 12:03 PM
Super Cute!
Touchy-feely book meets sound book! My 2 year old twins can’t get enough of this book! They go to the bookshelf and say “Tickle” when they want me to read it to them.
Date: 10/9/2019 8:20 PM
Great for all ages
My nearly 2 year old and 6 year old have both been loving this book!  Heck, its even fun for an adult.  It's great to teach cause and effect, and has 2 different sensory features with touch and sound.  I've read it about 15 times in the 2 days we've owned it!
Date: 10/9/2019 11:03 PM
LO loves it, Mama disappointed
We have most of the Usborne interactive sound books and were super excited for this one. My daughter loves it! Especially the hippo, bear, and monkey pages. But we both don’t like the end; the weird animal sound “dance” party makes no sense with the rest of the book. My other issue, is the same texture is used for the bird as it is for the mammal. As a leader in non-fiction, I wish the accuracy existed in fiction as well. It’s a sweet book but does not live up to the expectations I have come to expect from Usborne books.
Date: 10/11/2019 6:40 AM
Amazing book combining texture and sound
Both my 5 year old and 3 year old love this one.  Their favorite pages are the monkey and the last page.  I think the final page is hilarious and so do my kiddos.  This is a must-have!!
Date: 10/19/2019 1:06 PM
New family favorite!
This books is so unique! Combining texture with sounds was the best decision the publisher could have made!! My boys are 3 and 5 and both equally enjoy the engagement this book offers. They get a kick out of the monkey's howl!! Great book! Highly recommend it!!
Date: 10/24/2019 11:43 AM
Cute, but short
This book is cute, and my kids really love it, but I wish the book had another page or 2, or even a couple more words on each page.
Date: 10/25/2019 11:21 AM
Totally Unexpected!!
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I ordered this. But let me tell you, it is now the most loved book in our home!! 😍 I love the combination of texture and sound! It’s a fun and silly book!! Tickling all the animals makes them happy and there’s a party at the end that my kids love to dance to!!!
Date: 10/26/2019 9:15 AM
Average
My 10 month old enjoys the touchy-feely part, but the animal sounds are kind of bizarre. The book is pretty short and lacks depth, which is fine for an infant but at this price point I expected a bit more.
Date: 10/31/2019 8:49 AM
Love it!!!
Our two year old is absolutely in love with this book!  I thought $20 was a bit steep, but it has proven to be a great buy!
Date: 11/18/2019 11:31 PM
A total gem
When this book first released I thought to myself how steep $20 is. BUT let me tell you this! It is worth EVERY PENNY!!! My 2 year old daughter has a minor hearing loss but loves anything that has sounds. This by far is her favorite book. She absolutely adores this and tries to copy the animals. She especially loves having a little dance party at the end with all the animal sounds. Such a great book to keep your little one entertained for a bit and them loving such an interactive book.
Date: 11/19/2019 1:50 PM
Kid's love it
I bought this around Halloween and some of the sounds sounded like something out of a haunted house. However all 3 of my kids of very different ages loved it. My then 13 y/o had a blast laughing with me about the horrifying sounds, my 7 y/o loved it because she just thought it was amazing and my baby, then 4 mo old, loved the sounds and the music. The ending is my favorite part.
Date: 12/20/2019 8:46 AM
New Household Favorite!
My 1 & 3 year olds are obsessed with Don’t Tickle the Hippo! Especially the dance party at the end. A fantastic combination of touchy-feely and sound to get your little ones excited about reading!
Date: 1/5/2020 11:18 PM
1 Year Old's Favorite!
My son is one and loves his That's Not My books. But with the addition of sound, this touchy-feely book has to be his favorite. He's a music lover too, so the dance party at the end really seals the deal!
Date: 3/10/2020 5:25 PM
This is more like 10 stars!
This book is so great! My two kids enjoy this book so much! We laugh at all the noises and it’s so funny because when you tell a kid not to do something chances are they’re gonna do it anyway! I love the sensory side to this, my one year old is constantly playing with this book! It should be in everyone’s home!
Date: 4/30/2020 7:34 PM
Loved it!!!
My kids went nuts for this book!  My 6, 4 and 2 year old all loved it, especially the dance party at the end!  I love how the sound is easy to set off as opposesd to other brand sound books where it's difficult to locate the sound button or hard to push, these go off just by brushing the texture patch. Definitely recommend!
Date: 5/18/2020 10:16 PM
Fantastic!
This book is one of my 1 year old's favorites.  She touches the animal sounds over and over, and loves the music/sounds of all the animals together on the last page.  Keeps her entertained for quite a while, we can't wait to get the rest!
Date: 7/17/2020 8:50 PM